Who's Involved

The Washington Department of Ecology’s (Ecology) Office of Columbia River (OCR) and Chelan County co-convened the Icicle Work Group (IWG) in 2012 to find collaborative solutions to chronic water supply problems in the watershed. The IWG developed a water resource management strategy (Icicle Strategy) consisting of a comprehensive list of projects that address Icicle Creek issues identified in their Guiding Principles.   

The IWG is made up of a diverse set of stakeholders representing local, state and federal agencies, tribes, irrigation and agricultural interests and environmental organizations. The IWG follows a set of operating procedures that define its purpose, members and ultimate goals of this strategy.

Meeting Information


Membership List


Tom Tebb, Director
Office of Columbia River
Washington State Department of Ecology

Shon Smith, Commissioner
Board of Commissioners
Chelan County


Member Organizations and Representatives

Confederated Tribes of the Yakama Nation
Primary: David Blodgett
Alternate: Cory Kamphaus

Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
Primary: Chuck Brushwood
Alternate: Jason Breidert

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
Primary: Chris Duke
Alternate: Nicole Ahlem

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – Leavenworth National Fish Hatchery
Primary: Bill Gale
Alternate: Mat Maxey

NOAA – Fisheries
Primary: Justin Yeager
Alternate: none

Icicle Creek Watershed Council
Primary: Sharon Lunz
Alternate: Shaun Seaman

Washington Water Trust
Primary: Greg McLaughlin
Alternate: Tessa Reeder

Trout Unlimited – Washington Water Project
Primary: Theo Burgoon
Alternate: Lisa Foster

Agricultural Representative
Daryl Harnden

Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife
Primary: Brock Hoenes
Alternate: Nate White

Washington State Department of Ecology
Primary: Tom Tebb
Alternate: Melissa Downes

Icicle and Peshastin Irrigation District
Primary: Levi Jantzer
Alternate: Tony Jantzer

City of Leavenworth
Primary: Carl Florea
Alternate: Tom Wachholder

Chelan County
Primary: Shon Smith
Alternate: Mike Kaputa

Cascade Orchard Irrigation Company
Primary: Dan Wilkinson 
Alternate: Tim Walsh

U.S. Forest Service
Primary: Vacant
Alternate: Erica Taecker

Cascadia Conservation District
Primary: Ryan Williams
Alternate: none

Agricultural Representative
Mel Weythman